2005-03-02 / ChatterBox

The Chatter Box

By Deborah Bennett

Please remember that the deadline for submitting church histories and photos to be included in the Centennial edition of The Millen News is Thursday, March 31.

You are limited to 500 words at no charge. If you need more than 500 words, you must take out an advertisement.

We’re hoping that all of the churches in Jenkins County will participate and submit a church history and photograph to be included in this historic edition.


We have received many favorable comments concerning The Millen News’ web site.

Everyone seems to enjoy being able to read the local news online.

The web site also provides a means for viewers to look up back copies of the newspaper instead of having to come to the office to do so.

If you haven’t yet visited the web site, you can find it at www.themillennews.com.


I am very pleased to report that Darien Averill will be assisting us in covering school sports and other sporting events.

I realize that coverage of local sports is where we have fallen short in the past. Hopefully, with Mr. Averill’s help, we’ll be able to do a better job now.


Happy birthday this week to: Phil Cowart, Tyson Bennett, Bryce Joyner, Garfield Hendrix, Grady Joiner, Darrel Clifton, Elizabeth Mosley, Anna Troisi, Reann Black, Lauren Garvin, Evelyn Richardson, Sophia Kent, Denise R. Bragg, Kim Landing, Keri Williams, Charles Brannen, Rudolph Hydrick, Kameron Burke, Edward Wilson and J.D. Cain.


Celebrating wedding anniversaries this week is Mr. and Mrs. George Larisey.


Military Active Duty List: Airman Jamie A. Yager, U.S. Navy, Great Lakes, Ill.; Andy D. Crosby, U.S. Navy, Leyete Gulf Destroyer, Norfolk, Va.; LCPL Dwain "Cade" Lee, 1st Marine Division Combat Service Support Group II Security Element, ArRamadi, Iraq; Jimmy Cooper, U.S. Army National Guard, 878th Engineering Battalion-Augusta, Persian Gulf ; Thomas Kelsey, U.S. Army National Guard, 878th Engineering Battalion-Augusta, Persian Gulf; 1st Lt. J.R. Taylor, 2nd Brigade Combat Team, 25th Infantry Division, Iraq; SPC. Daniel Stuart, 18th MEDCOM, 121 General Hospital, Seoul, Korea; SFC Floyd Bolton Jr., 7th Battalion, 159th Aviation Brigade, 101st Airborne Division, Ft. Campbell, Kentucky; SFC Maria Bolton, 61st Medical Detachment, 21st Combat Support Hospital, 4th Medical Brigade, Ft. Campbell, Ketucky; 1st Lt. Andrew P. Thomas, U.S. Marines, 2nd Marine Division, Small Craft Company, Iraq; Sgt. Steven Yager, 362nd Sig. Company, Korea; MM3 Jeffrey Sweat, U.S. Navy, USS Kauffman, MM3 59/E-Division, A-Gang, Norfolk, Va.; Cpl. Larry Lamont Clark, U.S. Marine Corp, 2nd Marine Expeditionary Force, Camp Lejeune, N.C.-Bagdad, Iraq; Khan Young, U.S. Navy, U.S.S. Kitty Hawk, Persian Gulf; Robert Milton Jr., E-3, U.S. Army, Ft. Stewart, Hinesville, Ga., Mission Kuwait; Ronnie Perryman, E-7, Georgia Army National Guard, 118th Field Artillery Regiment, Ft. Stewart; Arnold R. Mosley, 2nd Lt., U.S. Air Force, Randolph AFB, Texas; Debra A. Mosley, Tech. Sgt., U.S. Air Force, Randolph AFB, Texas; and 1st Lt. Donald Slade Burke, Moody Air Force Base, Valdosta.

Return to top