2018-06-13 / ChatterBox

The Chatter Box

By Deborah Bennett

A new era is beginning in the Jenkins County School System with the demolition of the Jenkins County High School/Middle School building getting underway. When students return from summer vacation for the 2018-2019 school term they will occupy the new PreK-12 school that has been constructed adjacent to the JCHS/JCMS buildings on Barney Avenue.

Built in 1952-1953, approximately 64 graduating classes have walked the halls of the JCHS building, including myself. Somehow, though, those hallways and class rooms seemed a lot bigger back when I was actually in school, rather than just visiting the facility.

I have many fond memories of my school days at JCHS: physical education, basketball games, pep rallies, science fairs and award programs in the gymnasium, English lessons in the classroom of Kay Green, U.S. History under Buddy Pope, Physical Science with Mary Andrew, Math with Evelyn Young, lunches in the cafeteria, and gathering with friends on the benches in front of the school. And who could ever forget that 8th grade Georgia history scrapbook or that 12th grade term paper?

Yes, an era is coming to an end, but a new one is also beginning. There is no doubt that students attending the new facility will also make some pleasant memories.

Farewell, JCHS, you will not be forgotten by those of us who have tread your hallways and sat in your classrooms through the years!

Happy birthday this week to: Brian Richards, Rew Herrmann, Chuck Richardson, Ray Boynton, Bryce Cranshaw, Jamie Fagler, Sue Davis, David Wheeler, Vincent Troisi, Karla Moore, Susan W. Godbee and Brittany Morris.

Military Active Duty

Col. James Eldridge Davis, U.S. Air Force, DoD Pentagon, Washington D.C.; TSgt. Jeremy M. Chestnut, U.S. Air Force, Keesler AFB, Biloxi, MS; CPT Justin G. McBride, U.S. Army, Fort Stewart, GA; Chief Warrant Officer 5 Darryll L. Simpkins, U.S. Army, Fort Gordon Logistics Readiness Center, Augusta, GA; Tech Sgt. Stuart Burrus, U.S. Air Force, Shaw AFB, Sumter, S.C.; E-4 Christopher Simmons, U.S. Army, Missouri; E-3 Ralphael Franklin Lovett, U.S. Army, Kuwait; E-4 Rhonda Lovett, U.S. Army Reserve, Augusta, GA; Airman First Class Aaron Comstock, U.S. Air Force, Shaw AFB, Sumter, S.C.; E-5 She’nice Thompson, U.S. Army, 25th Sustainment Brigade, HHC 25th Special Troops Battalion, Wahiawa, Hawaii; and Major D. Slade Burke, U.S. Air Force, 48th Logistics Readiness Squadron, RAF Lakenheath, United Kingdom.

Return to top